Tags

, ,

I have to admit I’m VERY excited! For the 1st time in my life I baked bread!! And it was soooo easy!!! And it tastes great!!!! And I know exactly what’s in it 😉

Here is my recipe for an easy-peasy no-knead bread:

  • 400 g (1,07 pounds) flour plus a little bit to dust your work place
  • 1/4 teaspoon yeast (I used powder yeast)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 320ml (10,82 oz) water

and one pot with lid to bake the bread in (so no plastic or wooden handles!)

easy peasy bread @ little platypusIn a large bowl, put the flour, yeast and salt and mix it. Then add water and mix it quickly with the tips of your fingers. Don’t knead it! Cover the bowl and let the dough rise for a minimum of 12 hours. I prepared it on Saturday afternoon and baked it on Sunday morning.

After the rest, preheat the oven to 250 degrees (Celsius, 482 F) and put the pot with lid inside.

Carefully slide the dough on a floured bench and pull it a bit apart/flat. Dust a little bit of flour on top of the dough and then pull the four corners up in the middle (like an envelope). Again, don’t knead it! Let it rise for 15 minutes (in the original recipe it says to wrap the dough in a linen kitchen towel, but I covered it with the already used bowl – less cleaning 😉 ).

Put the dough upside down in the pot (so the folded side is at the bottom) and cover with the lid. Bake it for 30 minutes, but reduce the heat after the first eight minutes to 230 degrees C (446 F). Take the lid off and continue to bake for 15 minutes, until crust is golden. I used spelt, so it didn’t turn out golden, but rather brown.

Enjoy!

