Tags

, , , , , ,

During summer I wrote about natural dye and I said I’ll put it on my autumn DIY list. Well, it’s not autumn yet, but here is the result:

natural dye pillow caseWe’ve made a little reading corner in my daughter’s room, with a big pillow to sit one and three smaller ones. Two of the smaller pillow cases I’ve made earlier this year: the purple one with the white dots and the one with an octopus (it’s made out of an old shirt of mine). So now I wanted a purple pillow case for the big pillow. Well, as you can see, it didn’t turn out purple, it’s more a light blue. But as I know now how to do it, I may just give it another try ;-).

So, here is the “how to” for an accidental light blue dye:

I used 1 pillow case (approx. 200g fabric), 2 cups (270g) of blueberries, 5 cups (1,25) of water and two handful of salt.

  1. Boil/simmer the blueberries in the water for 1 hour
  2. Strain the blueberries out of the water; if you want to be sure to have all tiny bits out I would pour the blueberry water through a strainer in another pot.
  3. Add salt
  4. Add pre-washed fabric and simmer for 1 hour
  5. Take the dyed fabric out and rinse it until all the water is clear (I used the 20 minutes washing program of our washing machine to be sure).
  6. Marvel at your unique work of art 🙂

If you want you can use batik knots to add a pattern. I’ve tried that, and learned to used thicker/wider twine next time to get wider “stripes”.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, sign up to receive updates to my blog by e-mail.

You can see more DIY at creadienstag. And if you want to share your tips for DIY dye, please comment!

