Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a guest post from Beverly from PoMoGolightly. We were discussing a gift for a newborn and here is her lovely idea:

For years I have wrestled with the comparative values of intention versus actions. In more stubborn moments, I insist that only actions matter. When my heart is softer, though, I acknowledge that intentions can also be important.

Imagine my surprise when I saw the two as one as I knit. From a young age, I helped my mother make blankets for loved ones. My grandmother taught me to crochet, and I later taught myself to quilt and to knit. For a long time, crafting equaled action alone.

When a friend was pregnant with twins, I wanted to make something that demonstrated the similarities and differences of the two boys. My intention was to imbue the hats I designed with wishes for healthy lives, for bright futures, for adventures, for peace, for excitement, for joy.

As I stitched, I held an image of the babies in my mind. I married what I wanted for the boys with what I crafted. I like to imagine my thoughts when I craft for others become part of the fabric I create. I believe the hats hold tiny special powers to surround their wearers with love.

Whether I stitch to celebrate a new life, to commemorate an important event, or to offer comfort to a friend or stranger who has lost a loved one, I aim to keep my focus on my intention for the item I create. Merging intention and action eases my philosophical conflict and results in hand made goodness to offer.

I’m thrilled to share my Two Babies, Two Skeins, Two Hats pattern with you. I hope you enjoy stitching with intention!

Beverly blogs about crafting and writing at PoMoGolightly. Follow her on Twitter.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, let us know for whom you made a little had and sign up to receive updates to my blog by e-mail.

